HCA Committees

Committees

HCA Committee Chairs are selected by the current president and hold the position for one year. Each chairman is responsible for the selection of their committee members and all HCA members are eligible to sit on a committee. The duties of the chair and the committee members are to help the president in serving the membership by taking on the responsibility of managing special issues dealing with the civil construction industry. The City of Houston and Harris County, when updating their plans and specifications documents bring them to be reviewed by our committees before making them public. This gives the City and the County an opportunity to have their documents thoroughly vetted by the industry that it will affect prior to it becoming the law of the land, and allows for a much cleaner transition from the old documents to the new.


City Government Relations

Chair: Gregg Reyes, Reytec Construction Resources, Inc.
Email: greyes@reytec.net

Reviews policies and issues that occur at the city level that affects the civil construction industry in the greater Houston area. 

Clay Shoot Committee

Chair: Jeremy Peltier, Peltier Brothers Construction
Email: jeremyp@peltierbros.com

Oversee the planning and operations of the annual HCA sporting clay shoot.

County Government Relations Committee

Co-Chair: Robert Carter, Carter Construction
Email:
lowbidrc12@gmail.com

 

Co-Chair: Chris Scruggs, Unitas Construction
Email:
chris@unitastexas.com

Reviews policies and issues that occur at the county level that affects the civil construction industry in the greater Houston area. 

Education Committee

Chair: Curtis Martin, Peckar & Abramson, P.C.
Email: cmartin@pecklaw.com

Provides educational seminars on varying topics of interest for HCA members.

Flood Committee

Chair: Matt Strickland, Sand Sprint & Clay
Email: mstrickland@thesprintcompanies.com

Works with the Harris County Flood Control Division to perform plan and specification reviews and to discuss topic of interest.

Golf Committee

Chair: Bob Nelson, ACT Pipe & Supply, Inc.
Email: bob@actpipeandsupply.com

Oversees the planning and operation of the Spring and Fall golf tournaments. The golf tournaments are HCA's primary fundraising tools for the political action committee, HOUCONPAC.

Management Development Committee

Chair: Jon Harper, Harper Brothers Construction LLC

Email: jon.harper@harperbro.com

Promotes networking and socialization among HCA's newer generation of contractors and future company mangers in the civil construction industry in Houston. 

Membership Committee

Chair: Brian Stevenson, BCSG Insurance Services LLC

Email: brian@thebcsg.com

Finding new ways to promote our association while bringing in new civil contractors and associates. 

 

METRO Committee

Chair: Anthony Colombo, mc2 civil, inc

Email: anthony.colombo@mc2civil.com

Work with the Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County to review policies that affect the heavy civil construction community, maintain ties and build relationships between our two entities.

 


MWBE Committee

Chair: David Boehm, NBG Constructors, Inc.
Email: davidb@nbgconstructors.com

Oversees the City of Houston's efforts to maintain its affirmative action program. MWBE specifically deals with issues regarding good faith efforts and disparity studies.


Neighborhood Committee

Chair: Sherry Barker, C. E. Barker, LTD
Email: sherry@cebarkerltd.com

Neighborhood Committee interacts with regional, private neighborhood developers and improves the lines of communication between the developers and the contractors. 

 

OBO Committee

Chair: Alicia Jimerson, Jimerson Underground, Inc.
Email: alicia@jimerson.net

Reviews policies and issues that occur relating to the City's Office of Business Opportunities.


Safety Committee

Chair: Justin Teague, PLW Waterworks, LLC
Email:
jteague@PLWus.com

Promotes and educates HCA members on the topic of workplace safety.The safety committee also oversees the planning and award of the HCA annual Safety Award.


Small Business Committee

Chair: Steven Aranda, Reytec Construction Resources, Inc.
Email:
saranda@reytec.net

Work to promote and grow women owned, minority owned, and small businesses in the heavy civil construction industry.  Train companies, both contractor and supplier, on how to increase their size and capacity and promote the civil construction industry as a profession overall.


State Government Relations Committee

Chair: Ben Westcott, Andrews Myers PC.
Email: bwestcott@andrewsmyers.com

Reviews policies and issues that occur at the state level that affects the civil construction industry in the greater Houston area.